Upcoming events


Log in

THRIVE Teen Transition Skills- VIRTUAL

  • Saturday, January 04, 2020
  • Saturday, December 05, 2020
  • 12 sessions
  • Saturday, January 04, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CST)
  • Saturday, February 01, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CST)
  • Saturday, March 07, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CST)
  • Saturday, April 04, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CDT)
  • Saturday, May 02, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CDT)
  • Saturday, June 06, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CDT)
  • Saturday, July 04, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CDT)
  • Saturday, August 01, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CDT)
  • Saturday, September 12, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CDT)
  • Saturday, October 03, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CDT)
  • Saturday, November 07, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CST)
  • Saturday, December 05, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (CST)
  • Online via Zoom

Registration


Register


*THRIVE will meet virtually until further notice. 

THRIVE is a group for teens and young adults (developmental ages 14-22) with autism looking to participate in discussions and expand understanding of society's unwritten rules. Using Dr. Elizabeth Laugeson’s innovate book, “The Science of Making Friends: Helping Socially Challenged Teens and Young Adults,” the group facilitator of THRIVE provides individuals with evidence-based tools for building friendships and relationships. The group facilitator is an adult on the autism spectrum who provides a safe environment and encourages individuals to discuss experiences with like-minded peers. 

Please use your participant's email address to register for this event. All communication about the event, including links, will go to the registrant.

This group meets the first Saturday of each month, after Game Day ends.
You do not need to attend all sessions to participate. 

Course Schedule (Drop in anytime)

Dates and Times are subject to change. Thrive classes occur after game day.

Saturday, September 12, 2020, 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 PM:

  • Chapter 1: Why Teach Social Skills to Teens and Young Adults?
  • Chapter 2: Finding and Choosing New Friends

Saturday, October 3, 2020: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 3: Good Conversations

Saturday, November 7, 2020: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 4: Starting and Entering Conversations

Saturday, December 5, 2020: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 5: Exiting Conversations

Saturday, January 2, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 7: Showing Good Sportsmanship

Saturday, February 6, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 8: Enjoying Successful Get Togethers

Saturday, March 6, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 7: Dealing With Arguments

Saturday, April 3, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 10: Handling Verbal Teasing

Saturday, May 1, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 6: Managing Electronic Communication
  • Chapter 11: Managing Cyber Bullying

Saturday, June 5, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 12: Minimizing Rumors and Gossip

Saturday, July 3, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 13: Avoiding Physical Bullying

Saturday, August 7, 2021: 3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Chapter 14: Changing A Bad Reputation

HelpLine: 
(615) 385-2077
Address:
955 Woodland St
Nashvillle, TN 37206

Click Here for Crisis Chat Now
(service provided by Family and Children's
Services)

Autism Tennessee, legal name ASMT, Inc. is a 501(c)3 charitable organization and donations are tax deductible. This statement is not intended to be tax advice.
Tax ID # 27-1003749
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software