Log in

HFA CONNECT

  • Thursday, March 08, 2018
  • Thursday, December 12, 2019
  • 30 sessions
  • Thursday, March 08, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, March 08, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, April 12, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, April 12, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, June 14, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, June 14, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, July 12, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, July 12, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, August 09, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, August 09, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, September 13, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, September 13, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 11, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 11, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, November 08, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, January 10, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, February 14, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, March 14, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, April 11, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, May 09, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, May 09, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, May 09, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, June 13, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, July 11, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, August 08, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, September 12, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 10, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, November 14, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 12, 2019, 6:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Cross Point Church 299 Cowan St, Nashville, TN 37213

Registration


Register

CONNECT is a monthly group provided for adults with high-functioning autism who are seeking a safe social outlet. The group will begin by meeting on location at CrossPoint; once participants feel comfortable, meetings may be held in various locations in the community (e.g., grocery store, mall, bowling alley).

Individuals with high-functioning autism frequently find themselves isolated despite wanting to make and keep friends. They often have fewer opportunities to interact with others and lack the self-confidence needed to initiate relationships in the opportunities they do have. Less developed social and executive functioning skills make it difficult to know how to find opportunities for developing relationships.

This group will provide a safe environment for these individuals to connect and practice interacting with others under the supervision of a trained professional.

Objectives


For participants:

·    To practice greetings others and doing so until it is a routine behavior

·    To develop self-confidence by learning more about ASD and how it can be used as a strength

·    To practice initiating, maintaining and ending conversations

·    To practice social skills in a variety of settings with familiar and unfamiliar individuals

For the community:

·    Individuals with HFA have many positive attributes that can contribute to society. However, without the self-confidence and skills needed to successfully and comfortably interact with others, these attributes often go unnoticed. As Connect participants practice appropriately interacting with others and gain the courage necessary to venture into the community, the community will gain greater access to neurodiversity.


HelpLine: 
(615) 385-2077 ext 1
Office:
615-385-2077
Address:
955 Woodland St
Nashvillle, TN 37206

Autism Tennessee, legal name ASMT, Inc. is a 501(c)3 charitable organization and donations are tax deductible. This statement is not intended to be tax advice. Please check with your accounting professional or the I.R.S. for information regarding tax deductions for donations to 501(c)3 charitable organizations. Tax ID # 27-1003749
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software